Department of Labor & Workforce Development

Workers’ Wages Repaid Following NJ Labor Department Stop-Work Order

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

February 20, 2020

TRENTON – A Chester restaurant and hotel paid more than $14,500 in back wages and penalties after the employer was issued a stop-work order by the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development (NJDOL) for nonpayment of wages to its workers.

NJDOL investigators presented a stop-work order to Publick House Partners, L.L.C., and Joseph Lubrano, owner of The Publick House Tavern and Inn in Chester, Morris County, in January after an investigation found the employer owed wages to two employees in the amount of $10,500 and $1,700.

“Our job is to protect workers by ensuring they take home every penny they have earned, and leveling the field for the overwhelming majority of businesses who play by the rules,” said Labor Commissioner Robert Asaro-Angelo. “If employers do not treat New Jersey workers fairly, we will do everything within our authority to make things right – including the issuance of stop-work orders when necessary.”

The employer subsequently made payments in the amount of $12,410 and $2,160 to satisfy the two outstanding judgements and related penalties, and to lift the stop-work order.

As of July 2019, the NJDOL has the authority to require any employer to cease business operations when significant pay, benefits, or other workers’ rights violations are documented.

Workers’ rights have been a priority under Governor Murphy’s administration. He has signed several laws ensuring the fair treatment of employees since taking office, among them being the capability to issue stop-work orders to businesses where significant labor violations were documented to have occurred.

For more information on New Jersey’s laws, visit myworkrights.nj.gov

  Go back to all press releases